Home Search Contact Us Legal Notice Media Français


While Assuris provides Canadian policyholders with specified levels of protection against loss of benefits due to the financial failure of a Member Company, regulation of member companies is performed by:

1. Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions (OSFI) for federally incorporated financial institutions.
2. Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF) for financial institutions incorporated in Quebec.
3.Financial Services Commission of Ontario (FSCO) for financial institutions incorporated in Ontario.
4.Canadian Council of Insurance Regulators (CCIR)
5. Government of Alberta
6.Government of British Columbia
7.Government of Manitoba
8.Government of New Brunswick
9. Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
10.Government of Northwest Territories
11.Government of Nova Scotia
12.Government of Nunavut
13.Government of Ontario
14.Government of Prince Edward Island
15. Government of Quebec
16. Government of Saskatchewan
17.Government of Yukon Territory

In addition to the consumer protection offered by Assuris, other compensation plans exist in Canada for the protection of benefits from financial products in the event of financial institution insolvency, including:

1.Canadian Consumer Protection for Financial Institution Failures
2.Canadian Deposit Insurance Corporation (CDIC)
3.Property and Casualty Insurance Compensation Corporation (PACICC)
4. Canadian Investor Protection Fund (CIPF)
5. Deposit Insurance Corporation of Ontario (DICO)
6.Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF)

Other Consumer Organizations:

1. Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
2. OmbudService for Life and Health Insurance
3.Financial Services OmbudsNetwork (FSON) for financial consumer complaint resolution

Industry Associations:

1.Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association (CLHIA)
2.International Forum of Insurance Guarantee Schemes (IFIGS)